Aftermath

I have
a bleeding heart
that spreads its
rot
through my veins
to my mouth,
and I ooze
false-truths
and
self-destruction.

There’s an
expiration date
on this love
of mine
and you smell it
turning sour,
leaking
noxious gas
to spontaneous combustion.

My
rubbed-red eyes
and shaking hands,
they know
what’s coming
before my mind
catches on,
tectonic shifting
and deconstruction.

There’s a
boiling point
where my
ears ring numb
and the
truth of us
comes spilling
out,
covering us all
with a
flaming eruption.

I take in
the chaos and
this ravaged body,
emotional wreckage
a small
price to pay.
My head beats
red,
my bones
bleed corruption.

There’s dust
that settles
and nerves that fight
to twist themselves
together,
my lungs that
ache for
clarity,
instruction.

The buzzing stops
and the smoke
dissipates,
and here in
the rubble
is you. is me.
We fight for
our lives.
A re-introduction.

Leave a Reply

