Forest Fires

20140515-140324.jpg

I have, ’till now,
borne in silence
a being as base as you are,
and so unsuitable to me.

The sky shot through with light
and I felt in my body
what my eyes could not grasp.

How pale you would be,
and startling –
but your curves
would spring upward.

You would waver,
and relapse, and tremble,
watching.

You came to me with evergreens
in your palms
and oh, how luminously
they expand.

And no one knows
(I am sure of this)
and yet I think I could bear
your beauty
unshaded.

Photo Credit: Alvor

Leave a Reply

