Creation.

If design
of darkness
steered the night
to what
white flower
like a dimpled moth
had kite
wings carried
the morning
there –
a thing
so small
and drenched
in light.

My goal in this new year has been to create. And isn’t it funny that this theme of creation just permeates everything. I’ve fortunately had a real creative flow going on lately and I spill poetry onto everything; restaurant napkins, pages of poetry books I’m reading, the note app in my phone, my own skin. If a word or phrase strikes me in some way I am instantly moved to write, and this brings me intense joy.
Today my joy is in the sunlight craved like water in this nerve-deadening, oppressive winter.

2 thoughts on “Creation.

Leave a Reply

